RSS Feed

Through the Looking Glass

ThroughTheLookingGlass

 

We’re almost at the end of January and my goals so far are on track in terms of reading and writing which is a great encouragement for me as I have a tendency of falling short on anything I start. I think the biggest change between now and all previous times is the writing communities and friends I have, who both encourage and push me towards becoming a better writer; towards reaching my goals.

Reading

Taking that final plunge into committing to Goodreads has helped to get my reading back on track. Even as an avid reader, I have found that over the years that I just read less and less as I grew up. Goodreads has helped me remember the joys of reading and with it, the discipline of reading, especially the reading challenge which forcing me to read a book a week; regardless of how tedious it is.

Surprisingly, the current book I’m reading, Finders Keepers by Stephen King, is such a struggle. I’m a big King fan, have been reading his books since I was at least twelve  years old, and this is the first time I’m struggling to enjoy his stories. Perhaps it’s the way its told, perhaps it’s the lack of “horror” – I honestly don’t know but I’ll leave my final verdict for the Wednesday book review.

Writing

Friday Fiction is going really well and I hope you have enjoyed, and will continue to enjoy all the short tales I write on Friday. Most of these are completely random, inspired by prompts given by Rachel Poli over at RachelPoli.com.

I will also be taking a crack at Cracked Flash Fiction just to keep the creative juices flowing.

Editing

I honestly haven’t touched any of my novels since NaNo. I fear the amount of work it will take. I fear all the mistakes I’ve made. I fear having to dig back into the story, rectifying the chaos only to find that I hate the story. A mountain of fears I need to overcome and I have no idea how to do that.

Communities and Friends

I find a great deal of encouragement from the different writing communities and friends in my life right now, who continuously push me to try my best at whatever I do.

There’s the Johannesburg NaNo writers who have created a forum, WhatsApp group, Facebook group and Twitter handle just to encourage all of us to get into the writing. JoziWrimos has been a fantastic motivation.

There’s a Facebook page I’ve become part of, known as the The Writing Dragons Den, and it features a large number of professional writers, aspiring writers, published authors and others who continuously post tips, discussions, blog posts and various other resources that are incredibly useful and inspirational.

Rachel Poli, Carin Marais and a few others have also been a great help and I visit their blogs often just to see what I can glean from them. From Twitter re-tweets to blog post comments to helping each other in various other ways that encourage each other to become better writers. I am also working with Rachel on some blog posts and you will see the first interaction of a series later today. You can find their blogs below.

Rachel Poli

Carin Marais

Conclusion

I would encourage you to find someone or a group that will help you reach your goals, people you can trust to hold you accountable while encouraging you. Don’t let laziness and procrastination keep you from reaching your aspirations.

Hows your January goals going so far?

About Nthato Morakabi

Nthato Morakabi is a South African born published author working as a Junior Technical Writer for Everlytic and a freelance writer for Gamecca Magazine. He has published his short stories both internationally, and locally, hoping to publish a novel in the near future. He is an avid read, inspired blogger, and an aspiring digital artist.

6 responses »

  1. Thanks Nthato! I’m glad to hear you’re goals are coming along nicely. As for the editing… just do it! Once you get started it’ll come much easier for you!

    Reply
  2. First off, thanks so much for the mention! The Jozi writers are a great bunch (even if I say so myself! :D)
    How about tackling some of the editing for Camp NaNoWriMo?

    Reply

Any Words to the Writer?

Read, Sav, Read.

| B.A. in English. | Writer. | Lover of books. | 2017 Book Count: 61. | Currently Reading: Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon. |

Liam Birkner: Whiskey and Words

Book Reviews, Short Stories and Daily Thoughts

PROMPTUARIUM

the writers store room

Horror Movie Marathon 2017

- presented by Nathan Scovell

Writer's Treasure Chest

A blog for authors, about authors, written by an author

J.M. Williams

A home for all things fantasy and sci-fi.

Digressive Me

Trying to write. One day at a time.

Red String PaperCuts

Explorers and Storytellers

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

eternal scribbler

Tips, tricks and tutorials for writers

One Lazy Robot

Home of Anthony Vicino

witchlike

Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

Lebana's Journal

I Dare You to Figure Me Out

Nthato Morakabi

Author | Blogger | Artist | Geek

This Is My Truth Now

Author, Blogger, Book Reviewer... and introducing the 365 Daily Challenge!

rbwatkinson

Author of the fantasy trilogy The Wefan Weaves

Sean P Carlin

Writer of things that go bump in the night

Orchid's Lantern

Shedding light on how we live, what we think, and why we care.

Ricardo Victoria

Writer. Toy photographer. Random Musings

