RSS Feed

Wednesday Book Review: My Abigail

Title: My Abigail

Author: David Kummer

Genre: Thriller

Book procurement: Received from the author for an honest review.

Synopsis:

In this gripping, terrifying read, Caleb meets the girl of his dreams. She’s different, beautiful, and cares more than anyone ever has. But Abigail isn’t who he thinks.

He begins to notice things. The way she disappears for days on end… How she won’t go home at night… All the warnings he gets about her… He must ask himself, Who is she really?

When Caleb is faced the choice of a lifetime -to love or to hate, to give in and try again- he must make the ultimate decision. Who will he hurt? What will he choose? And is it too late to turn back now?

…Abigail had a secret.
I knew it soon after meeting her.
She was different than other girls, and not just because she actually showed some interest in me. She was really different. I loved it. I loved her.
But Abigail had a secret.
Damian told me so, the first time I met him. I wasn’t sure whether to believe him or not. He wasn’t trustworthy. He wasn’t nice. He was a terrifying figure, the embodiment of fear. But he was right.
She had a secret.
I’m sorry I keep repeating it. It’s still hard to believe. How could somebody so gentle, nice, and loving be so… scary?
That’s the only word I knew to describe her after it all ended. Everything about her being was scary.
Abigail was my life, I told myself. She was my everything.
She left me with nothing.
If she was my life, does that make this suicide?…

Review:

First Thoughts

My Abigail started strong. The main character Caleb is a bullied young man who seems to be very reserved and quiet. He has no friends. He keeps to himself. That’s the sort of character I thought he was. Then in comes the mysterious Abigail, a girl who actually likes him and they become friends. He also meets another quiet, reserved boy Xavier and befriends him too. It all seems to be going relatively well and then Abigail simply vanishes for days. Xavier also tends to just disappear. Then he meets the very weird, and exceptionally creepy Damian. He has has a secret about Abigail that Caleb may not want to here.

Story

It’s very difficult to place the story. It’s a thriller with some elements of horror that aren’t really horror and more dramatic abnormalities. Caleb is the main character who begins to unravel the secrets behind his two new friends Abigail and Xavier, while trying to figure out who Damian is, what his ties are with the other two, and why he gets the creeps when around him.

I must admit I was not expecting the truth that came out. Completely threw me off. Rocked my boat, and because of that particular aspect, I enjoyed My Abigail more than I would have. It’s hauntingly tragic, and the ending is just heartbreaking, even though it feels a bit rushed.

Writing

The writing itself wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great either. It flowed well, and progressed steadily. You get a real sense of who Caleb is, and the drama that surrounds him. My main issue was regarding the characters, and how the adults act more like teenagers than adults (even the psychologist) which was a little off putting. Caleb, who also seemed very reserved is suddenly shouting at parents and then there’s a scene that was so out of character, (and written weirdly) that I had to re-read it.

Final Thoughts

There is so much potential in this story, and with a little more work on the characterisation it would be even better. A wonderful story overall nonetheless.

Rating: A budding 3 out of 5


Hi. My name is David Kummer. I’m an author that’s only in high school and so I’m still learning and growing (I’m not Caillou, so sorry if that sounded like it) and figuring out how to become a better author.

If you’d like to know about my releases or promotions as soon as they happen, go here:

Subscribe to David Kummer’s Newsletter

I live in Madison, Indiana, which is a small town on the Ohio River. There’s lots of history and creepy places, which probably have influenced my writings. In my book SHE, most of the places and buildings are based off similar settings here in my home town, although I’ve changed them so that you wouldn’t know really if I didn’t tell you.

About Nthato Morakabi

Nthato Morakabi is a South African born published author working as a Junior Technical Writer for Everlytic and a freelance writer for Gamecca Magazine. He has published his short stories both internationally, and locally, hoping to publish a novel in the near future. He is an avid read, inspired blogger, and an aspiring digital artist.

2 responses »

Any Words to the Writer?

Nthato Morakabi

Author | Blogger | Artist | Geek

This Is My Truth Now

Author, Blogger, Book Reviewer... and introducing the 365 Daily Challenge!

rbwatkinson

Author of the fantasy trilogy The Wefan Weaves

Sean P Carlin

Writer of things that go bump in the night

Orchid's Lantern

Shedding light on how we live, what we think, and why we care.

Ricardo Victoria

Writer. Toy photographer. Random Musings

RedheadedBooklover

Just a redheaded woman who is obsessed with books

Fictive Dream

Short stories online

Heather Reviews

Book Reviews, Author Interviews, Book Hauls, Giveaways

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

thousandscarsblog

gaming/writing

Civilian Reader

(Books, Music, Movies)

A Steampunk Opera (The Dolls Of New Albion)

The writing, composing and production of a steampunk opera and all periphery topics that come along in the process

Airship Ambassador

Information for the Steampunk Community - www.AirshipAmbassador.com

Mystery Thriller Week

Celebrate the Annual Event

Miketendo64! The Place To Go For Anything Nintendo

Anything Nintendo! Covering News, Reviews, Interviews, Wii U, 3DS, Switch & Amiibo.

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

