RSS Feed

Junk Yard Angel – 2017’s Old-New Novel Goal

White Angel Artwork

White Angel by – JasonChanArt.com

In December 2012, I wrote a short story called Junk Yard Angel, inspired by the beautiful image above by Jason Chan. A year later I attempted my first NaNoWriMo with every intention of writing a Junk Yard Angel novel. The premise was as follows:

In a pre-technology era, the world was moving along fine and at a steady pace when a new technology was introduced. Steam powered contraptions began to appear all over the world, slowly at first but increasing rapidly with time and along with them, junk yards. Now the world relies heavily on this new technology (and the ridding of the old), even more so now as natural disasters seem to be occurring more often than before. And then rumours began to stir among the people, rumours of a saviour of sorts,the girl with the white hair – the Junk Yard Angel.

This was my first foray into the world of Steampunk. An exciting fantasy sub-genre where steam and natural gas are the primary sources of power as opposed to coal and electricity. Although I spent a lot of time on the story, writing 22155 words during NaNo, I felt that my story didn’t become the epic novel my mind had been brewing. The reason? Lack of world details, a weak plot, non-existent character arcs and flat characters. I was just a current firing off with the synapses without any forethought.

giphy

In the time between then and now, I’ve always thought about that novel, my first attempt at intentionally writing a novel and the potential in the idea. Steampunk popped up in other stories as well, including another novel attempt that was a steampunk horror inspired to be the spiritual successor of Junk Yard Angel. I’ve decided, after almost four years of deliberating, to once again attempt to write and finish Junk Yard Angel. This is the main goal for 2017.

Second Attempt Goals

Rather than jump right into writing the novel, I’ve decided to build it all up slowly with proper planning. Looking back, I don’t know how I thought I’d get anything done without a plan in the first place. As much as Pantsing is fun, and you can discover a lot of amazing things along the way, I always hit a brick wall when I do. Every time. This time, I’m going to be intentional and it starts as follows:

  • Build the world

Steampunk may seem like a limiting genre. You can only have a Victorian Era style of characters, clothing, language etc. I think that’s a serious misconception. The world then was not limited to just one area and different cultures would have exprienced the same era with varying results. This is my goal. A new world. My world.

  • Culture Shock

The original novel took place in a lot of areas. I’m not going to throw all those ideas out but build on them. Let’s see how different cultures and people were affected by this amazing technology. This will mean a lot of research and brainstorming. For instance, what if steam technology was introduced to a village where snow fell constantly. What inventions would they build, as opposed to London city folk?

  • A Living World

Details are important. What sort of transportation was being used? Was money important? What did it look like? Did markets exist? In what form? Were there any buildings? What sort? What were they using to build them? What materials were being used for buildings, clothing, weapons, and the world around them. If I cannot see the world where the story takes place, if it is not living in my head, then how can I write it?

  • Endless Possibilities

While there may be people who would frown upon what I’ve written, and would prefer the classic Steampunk renditions as seen in The Golden Compass, Wild Wild West, Treasure Planet, League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and the like, let’s not forget that Steampunk is a Fantasy genre and therefore anything can happen.


I’ve changed my site theme (again) just to see how it works. Sorry for all the changes.

About Nthato Morakabi

Nthato Morakabi is a South African born, published author working as a Technical Writer for Everlytic and a writer for Gamecca Magazine. He has published short stories both internationally and locally, and is hoping to publish a novel in the near future. He is an avid read, inspired blogger, and an aspiring digital artist.

6 responses »

  1. That novel sounds interesting. I’m sure you’ll be about to complete it this year. 🙂 Also, I love the new theme of your blog.

    Reply
  2. I hope you finish it this year. One of my attempts has the same issue, good premise but no world building or character arc. Sigh. I’m sure your second attempt ill be successful.

    Reply
  3. More and more as I follow your blog, I like the way you think! Your goals are good and CAN HAPPEN!

    Reply

Any Words to the Writer?

the retrograde blog

a different kind of evolution

Nicholas William Harding

Short Stories, Poetry, Articles and Rambles

Jessica Rachow

Author & Blogger

Unconventional Truth

To Sell A Lie There Must Be Truth

Read, Sav, Read.

| B.A. in English. | Writer. | Lover of books. | 2017 Book Count: 66. | Currently Reading: Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon. |

Liam Birkner: Whiskey and Words

Book Reviews, Short Stories and Daily Thoughts

PROMPTUARIUM

the writers store room

Writer's Treasure Chest

A blog for authors, about authors, written by an author

J.M. Williams

A home for all things fantasy and sci-fi.

Digressive Me

Trying to write. One day at a time.

Red String PaperCuts

Explorers and Storytellers

Douglas William Thurstan Smith

An Australian Fantasy/ Fiction Writer

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

The official site of Ari Meghlen

Tips, tricks and tutorials for writers

One Lazy Robot

Home of Anthony Vicino

witchlike

Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

Lebana's Journal

I Dare You to Figure Me Out

Nthato Morakabi

Author | Blogger | Artist | Geek

