RSS Feed

February Days: The Challenges of Reading

The month of February is already underway and we’re looking at two more weeks before women can no longer propose to men (as per the Leap Year tradition) and make for awkward four years of waiting for the guy to man up… or something of that sort. Ha ha?

From my side, I’m having a rather exciting February, with a lot changes happening suddenly and completely that require a change of structure and form to fit in all these changes… which is perfectly fine.

Reading

I am starting to feel the weight of the Goodreads challenge that I have undertaken, having just finished my sixth book for the year, one book behind statistically, and with another 46 to go before we call it a year. I’m starting to wonder how quickly I can read through a book in a week to give it a fair review, and how well I can plan my reading times, persevere with diligence even through tedious books, and push out my weekly Wednesday Review.

Speaking of which, later today I will be posting my latest read, Sweet Heart by Peter James. This has been an interesting read so far, feels like it would make a good indie movie but Peter James makes it work in book format too. Considering he’s a screenplay writer too you can see aspects of it in his writing. But let’s leave that for later.

Writing

Last Friday I posted three flash fictions to make up for the two weeks, where I missed my Friday Fiction writing. Of course I’m working on improving my writing and so with this re-scheduling of my life, I will get back to my Friday fictions. Also, I keep meaning to join up with Cracked Fiction and Flashmob fiction which happens on Saturdays, but things happen on Saturday as it is my only “free” time so I end up doing everything else besides write (or read). A little bit of time management is going to have to happen to get me back on schedule.

Editing

I’ve started to edit my 2015 NaNo novel after getting some great advice from Bridgett on Twitter who said

I go scene by scene in my first pass, fixing punctuation, spelling and highlighting problems in the passages. On my second pass, I fix the highlights.

The one thing that really put me off editing my novel was just the sheer size of it, and I was overwhelmed by the amount of writing it all was, but by going scene by scene, the novel editing becomes so much more achievable.

Conclusion

I don’t know what happened to February but it is almost gone. All I know is that it’s back to the writing, the reading and making sure that it is a productive 2016.

How’s your February going?

About Nthato Morakabi

Nthato Morakabi is a South African born published author working as a Junior Technical Writer for Everlytic and a freelance writer for Gamecca Magazine. He has published his short stories both internationally, and locally, hoping to publish a novel in the near future. He is an avid read, inspired blogger, and an aspiring digital artist.

One response »

  1. Yeah, February went by very quickly. Glad to hear that you’re starting edits on your novel. I hope that goes well.

    Reply

Any Words to the Writer?

this-is-my-truth-now

Fiction, Books, TV, Trips & Reviews... and introducing the 365 Daily Challenge!

rbwatkinson

Author of the fantasy trilogy The Wefan Weaves

Sean P Carlin

Writer of things that go bump in the night

Orchid's Lantern

Shedding light on how we live, what we think, and why we care.

Ricardo Victoria

Writer. Toy photographer. Random Musings

RedheadedBooklover

Just a redheaded woman who is obsessed with books

Fictive Dream

Short stories online

Heather Reviews

Book Reviews, Author Interviews, Book Hauls, Giveaways

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

thousandscarsblog

gaming/writing

Lost In A Story

"People - We're not much, unless you know our stories." - Hank Green

Civilian Reader

(Books, Music, Movies)

A Steampunk Opera (The Dolls Of New Albion)

The writing, composing and production of a steampunk opera and all periphery topics that come along in the process

Airship Ambassador

Information for the Steampunk Community - www.AirshipAmbassador.com

Mystery Thriller Week

Celebrate the Annual Event

Miketendo64! The Place To Go For Anything Nintendo

Anything Nintendo! Covering News, Reviews, Interviews, Wii U, 3DS, Switch & Amiibo.

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

