RSS Feed

NaNo 2015 Update

NaNoWrimo: Winner!

With 8 days still to go before the end of Novemeber, I managed to hit my 50K target last night at around 11:30PM. This was after a grueling battle with procrastination, discipline and life, where I attempted to use as many excuses as I could manage, to put it all off for another day. I still had 8 days left in the week to finish anyway right? And during those couple of hours, writing 5000 words seemed a mammoth of a task to undertake, regardless of the previous days when I managed 5000 words in a couple of hours thanks to writing sprints.

Challenges

The last 2500 words were the hardest, and for some reason I could not see how I was going to put more story into my story to fill it up. At the same time, my phone kept going off as messages streamed in from the local NaNos WhatsApp group we created, of all the people who were still doing sprints and encouraging one another onward. Also fellow rivals were competing to see who would hit 50K first and so I decided I might as well go for it and go for it I did.

Retrospect

Looking back, I must say that the Write-Ins and fellow NaNo-ians were my best encouragement in pushing me so far. On my own it’s easy to talk myself out of writing but with so much encouragement from an outside source, how could I fail.

Novel Completion

Now I can cruise forward with my novel and get all the story out and use my new copy of Scrinever to sort out my characters, scenes, locations and story properly in preparation for all the editing in December/January. Fun times!

Book Reading

I am almost done with reading Terry Pratchet’s Colour of Magic, the first book in the Discworld series and therefore will have accomplished my reading goal for the month. I know one book (less than 200 pages) in a month is an underachievement but with NaNo and life happening, I knew reading wouldn’t be high on my list. Nonetheless I have thoroughly enjoyed reading it and am definitely looking to get the rest of the series.

Reading List

I stumbled into a bookstore (dragged by a pining heart) and left with an addition to my list of books to read:

The Well by Catherin Chanter

The Harvest Man by Alex Grecian

The City and 77 Shadow Street by Dean Koontz

ALL BOOKS by Brandon Sanderson

Endgame and The Calling by James Frey

And so much more.

Onward Forth

To all of you still trudging through the NaNo snow, keep on keeping on and know that victory is attainable by sitting down and writing.

About Nthato Morakabi

Nthato Morakabi is a South African born published author working as a Junior Technical Writer for Everlytic and a freelance writer for Gamecca Magazine. He has published his short stories both internationally, and locally, hoping to publish a novel in the near future. He is an avid read, inspired blogger, and an aspiring digital artist.

4 responses »

  1. Congrats on hitting 50k! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Congratulations! 😀

    I think you will love Brandon Sanderson’s books. And Scrivener is awesome. That is all.

    Reply

Any Words to the Writer?

this-is-my-truth-now

Fiction, Books, TV, Trips & Reviews... and introducing the 365 Daily Challenge!

rbwatkinson

Author of the fantasy trilogy The Wefan Weaves

Sean P Carlin

Writer of things that go bump in the night

Orchid's Lantern

Shedding light on how we live, what we think, and why we care.

Ricardo Victoria

Writer. Toy photographer. Random Musings

RedheadedBooklover

Just a redheaded woman who is obsessed with books

Fictive Dream

Short stories online

Heather Reviews

Book Reviews, Author Interviews, Book Hauls, Giveaways

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

thousandscarsblog

gaming/writing

Lost In A Story

"People - We're not much, unless you know our stories." - Hank Green

Civilian Reader

(Books, Music, Movies)

A Steampunk Opera (The Dolls Of New Albion)

The writing, composing and production of a steampunk opera and all periphery topics that come along in the process

Airship Ambassador

Information for the Steampunk Community - www.AirshipAmbassador.com

Mystery Thriller Week

Celebrate the Annual Event

Miketendo64! The Place To Go For Anything Nintendo

Anything Nintendo! Covering News, Reviews, Interviews, Wii U, 3DS, Switch & Amiibo.

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

