RSS Feed

The Final Countdown

Today you can write about anything, in whatever genre or form, but your post must mention a dark night, your fridge, and tears (of joy or sadness; your call). Feel free to switch one ingredient if you have to (or revisit one from previous trio prompts).

___________

So as I write this post, I am aware that the counter on my blog is counting down the hours (and eventual last minutes and seconds) before NaNo Kicks off and then the battle for my first COMPLETED novel begins; I must say I am both excited and anxious. Not anxious in a negative way but in a “I’m sure I can really do this but my plot isn’t complete and I need this and that and that too…” kind of thing.

I imagine sitting at my desk on the 30th of November, as the evening draws into a dark night, far darker than I’d expect it to be. The moonless sky stares at me, reminding me that the hours are moving, minutes are passing…seconds are ticking. Each unnecessary trip to the fridge to rummage for that snack I know does not exist wastes more time – and my rather unfounded excuse, that the walk between my computer and the fridge is the reason I do not exercise, fails to the excuse me should I fail once again. And then its the tears, of sadness, as I drown my sorrow in fruit Tea and gaming.

As my friend and fellow blogger Tyrone said to me last night while we were talking writing and stuff,

“Tomorrow (today) is your last lazy day dude…just remember.”

Which I appreciated because 1) He knows I’m doing NaNo and is supporting me on this endeavour. 2) He wants me to uninstall my games (I told him no haha) and he said he’d hold me accountable should he see me online playing a game and I haven’t reached my daily quota. 3) I have people backing me up with NaNo from my Joburg peeps (Shout out to NaNo Johannesburg – Look forward to our first write in tomorrow!)  to a fellow NaNo writer over at Spilled Ink to another fellow writer who has recently started following my blog who has great insight on writing Joshua M Swenson

I am so looking forward to tomorrow’s Write-In and know this is going to be a great NaNo event! To all of you participating, good luck, write hard and put your all in to it!

___________

In response to:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/trio-no-three/

About Nthato Morakabi

Nthato Morakabi is a South African born published author working as a Junior Technical Writer for Everlytic and a freelance writer for Gamecca Magazine. He has published his short stories both internationally, and locally, hoping to publish a novel in the near future. He is an avid read, inspired blogger, and an aspiring digital artist.

Any Words to the Writer?

Nthato Morakabi

Author | Blogger | Artist | Geek

This Is My Truth Now

Author, Blogger, Book Reviewer... and introducing the 365 Daily Challenge!

rbwatkinson

Author of the fantasy trilogy The Wefan Weaves

Sean P Carlin

Writer of things that go bump in the night

Orchid's Lantern

Shedding light on how we live, what we think, and why we care.

Ricardo Victoria

Writer. Toy photographer. Random Musings

RedheadedBooklover

Just a redheaded woman who is obsessed with books

Fictive Dream

Short stories online

Heather Reviews

Book Reviews, Author Interviews, Book Hauls, Giveaways

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

thousandscarsblog

gaming/writing

Civilian Reader

(Books, Music, Movies)

A Steampunk Opera (The Dolls Of New Albion)

The writing, composing and production of a steampunk opera and all periphery topics that come along in the process

Airship Ambassador

Information for the Steampunk Community - www.AirshipAmbassador.com

Mystery Thriller Week

Celebrate the Annual Event

Miketendo64! The Place To Go For Anything Nintendo

Anything Nintendo! Covering News, Reviews, Interviews, Wii U, 3DS, Switch & Amiibo.

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

