RSS Feed

Doing What You Love

5-things

I was recently asked by one of the senior (role not age) staff where I see myself in five years. The somewhat expected answer was obviously related to my current employment and the furtherance of the company through my efforts. In my head that’s not where I saw myself.

How does that now translate to my work ethic?

It doesn’t. I put my best into my work because that is what I am employed to do – what I’m paid to do. As much as I love to write and want to take every opportunity I get to do exactly that, I still have responsibilities and expectations that I must fulfill.

In the long run however, my five year plan and beyond is to see myself deeper in to my writing and maybe even having it as a career. Every post here and every tid bit of writing I produce and every idea I come up with is all feeding in to this ultimate plan. In the end all I want to do is do what I love and is that not what everyone really wants to do.

The issue, however, is getting to that point. This is the path that I am walking on and each one’s path will obviously look different and lucky breaks will look different and how they get to that final point will look different but the drive is getting there in the end. It is so easy to convince yourself that maybe its better if you don’t push through and persevere. Maybe being settled  is better, safer and less work. Maybe you can change your dream and do something else that you can be sure of its success.

But why do that!? Why give up!? Why settle!?

So for NaNoWriMo I have no excuses, no reason to back out and no reason to run away from that 50k mark. 3 Days to go until NaNo and 3 days to go until I pursue what I love.

To all you NaNoWriMo writers – let November be the month you accomplish what you have always wanted to accomplish. Let nothing get in your way and let us reach for our dream together to Do What We Love!

About Nthato Morakabi

Nthato Morakabi is a South African born published author working as a Junior Technical Writer for Everlytic and a freelance writer for Gamecca Magazine. He has published his short stories both internationally, and locally, hoping to publish a novel in the near future. He is an avid read, inspired blogger, and an aspiring digital artist.

5 responses »

  1. What a great post. I’ve had this on my mind lately, too. Where do I see myself in five years? Well, I’ll be 26 years old so I’ll definitely be done with school by then. So hopefully I’ll have something published and maybe on my way to a career in writing. Wouldn’t that be nice?

    Reply
  2. Joshua M Swenson

    Great post! I always had a hard time answering that question in interviews… “where do you see yourself in 5 years?” A: “please shoot me if I’m still here!”

    Reply
    • Ha ha! It’s a valid question that employers must ask to see if you will be worth the investment. If i was in the writing industry my answer to that question would be significantly different to how I answered it this time.

      Reply

Any Words to the Writer?

Nthato Morakabi

Author | Blogger | Artist | Geek

This Is My Truth Now

Author, Blogger, Book Reviewer... and introducing the 365 Daily Challenge!

rbwatkinson

Author of the fantasy trilogy The Wefan Weaves

Sean P Carlin

Writer of things that go bump in the night

Orchid's Lantern

Shedding light on how we live, what we think, and why we care.

Ricardo Victoria

Writer. Toy photographer. Random Musings

RedheadedBooklover

Just a redheaded woman who is obsessed with books

Fictive Dream

Short stories online

Heather Reviews

Book Reviews, Author Interviews, Book Hauls, Giveaways

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

thousandscarsblog

gaming/writing

Civilian Reader

(Books, Music, Movies)

A Steampunk Opera (The Dolls Of New Albion)

The writing, composing and production of a steampunk opera and all periphery topics that come along in the process

Airship Ambassador

Information for the Steampunk Community - www.AirshipAmbassador.com

Mystery Thriller Week

Celebrate the Annual Event

Miketendo64! The Place To Go For Anything Nintendo

Anything Nintendo! Covering News, Reviews, Interviews, Wii U, 3DS, Switch & Amiibo.

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

