RSS Feed

Writing Challenge: Is he crazy!?

5-things

“Stephen King. In his book On Writing, King says that he writes 10 pages a day without fail, even on holidays. That’s a lot of writing each day, and it has led to some incredible results: King is one of the most prolific writers of our time.”

When I read this quote, I thought to myself, “Is that even possible? 10 Pages a day without fail? That’s a lot of writing!” and I thought about my own writing, how difficult it was to write just 2 pages a day unless the pressure of a deadline loomed over me like the blade of a guillotine. So I decided (with much fear and excitement) that I would attempt, not 10 pages a day but rather a post a day. I’m fortunate in the fact that its already the middle of September so its not so much writing but still, a post a day is a lot. Also I do not want to make it too easy so I’m pushing to write over 500 words per post, at least get 1000 words in or average more than 750 words. That is my target and also it will be a different style, genre or topic each time so I can’t cop out with “continuations”. Weekends count too so yes, this is indeed a challenge. Just thinking about it as I write this makes my chest pulsate.

Why am I doing this? Well its really to get writing. I only write when I have to with the occasional short here and there which means I don’t grow much as a writer. Sure I have the previews and reviews that I write for Gamecca and the Auburn Series that my fellow blogger and friend Tyron and I have been doing but this is different to both of those while at the same time, beneficial to both. So yes this is a way to get me writing more and hopefully better.

Right so with that out as public knowledge, you there, reader of my blog, can now hold me accountable and can even dish out a suitable punishment should I skip a day.

Right so with that said, lets get to writing!

About Nthato Morakabi

Nthato Morakabi is a South African born published author working as a Junior Technical Writer for Everlytic and a freelance writer for Gamecca Magazine. He has published his short stories both internationally, and locally, hoping to publish a novel in the near future. He is an avid read, inspired blogger, and an aspiring digital artist.

8 responses »

  1. Good luck buddy! I support you in this challenge.

    Reply
  2. Stephen King’s “On Writing” is one of my favorites and the same reason why I started my own blog. A post a day is tough stuff, but the benefits are immeasurable. Good luck!

    Reply
  3. 6 out of 7 days is not a bad goal. 1 day in 7 is good for rest (even for writers). When you’re famous remember us mortals.

    Reply

Any Words to the Writer?

Nthato Morakabi

Author | Blogger | Artist | Geek

This Is My Truth Now

Author, Blogger, Book Reviewer... and introducing the 365 Daily Challenge!

rbwatkinson

Author of the fantasy trilogy The Wefan Weaves

Sean P Carlin

Writer of things that go bump in the night

Orchid's Lantern

Shedding light on how we live, what we think, and why we care.

Ricardo Victoria

Writer. Toy photographer. Random Musings

RedheadedBooklover

Just a redheaded woman who is obsessed with books

Fictive Dream

Short stories online

Heather Reviews

Book Reviews, Author Interviews, Book Hauls, Giveaways

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

thousandscarsblog

gaming/writing

Civilian Reader

(Books, Music, Movies)

A Steampunk Opera (The Dolls Of New Albion)

The writing, composing and production of a steampunk opera and all periphery topics that come along in the process

Airship Ambassador

Information for the Steampunk Community - www.AirshipAmbassador.com

Mystery Thriller Week

Celebrate the Annual Event

Miketendo64! The Place To Go For Anything Nintendo

Anything Nintendo! Covering News, Reviews, Interviews, Wii U, 3DS, Switch & Amiibo.

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

